Posted by: Jackie | August 19, 2008

Perfecting Pitch – Life’s melody

 Beneath the noise of everyday life, a melody flows. This melody is people’s lives knit together in a harmony that one has to stop and really listen to perceive. The notes come from each of us, lifting our instrumental gifts and allowing the sweet music to harmonize with those around us.  

It amazes me how much we need each other. In a world where cultural differences, varied beliefs and political affiliations seem to pull us apart, the truth is, we are connected by something so deep, it’s unbreakable, no matter who hard we try to draw the dividing line.

Yet, we try anyway. Setting camp in those places of comfort we find acceptable. But it hinders the melody. It interrupts the rhythm. Everyone has been given something, a sort of instrument, that has the potential to make this world a better place. Like learning a violin, our gifts must be practiced. Often we’ll make mistakes, break strings, and come off sounding simply awful.

However, the closer we draw to our gift giver, God, the more he begins to prefect our pitch until we can harmonize with others and join in the melody.

The Message: “So let’s do it–full of belief, confident that we’re presentable inside and out. Let’s keep a firm grip on the promises that keep us going. He always keeps his word. Let’s see how inventive we can be in encouraging love and helping out, not avoiding worshipping together as some do but spurring each other on.” Heb. 10:22

This is how I’ve seen it work: I become unsure in my gifting. Fearful I’ll really mess up and make a fool of myself. Or I’m afraid I’ll hurt someone worse than helping them. And the enemy is tricky. He likes to convince you that you’ll never be able to play right. Or that you’re doing it wrong, or your a bad fit for that instrument and should be playing a different one instead. So then confusion sets in and you wonder what the heck you think you’re doing. I start to think I’m simply not good enough and need to stop before something really bad happens.

If I was all alone, then I would give up and walk away. But I’ve fervently asked the gift giver to teach me to play this instrument he’s given me. As any good teacher, he has many resources at his disposal. Most of those resources are his other musicians, all in various developments with their own gifting. When I falter, he sits me down and says, “Watch what they can do. Draw strength from their accomplishments. Watch and learn how they are doing it.”

So I was in the middle of such a time. Struggling with a task God had given me to do. As doubt whispered it’s killing words in my ear, the Holy One sang a life song, directing me to one of his other children. Just so happened to be another blog. I simply felt a strong prompting to visit and see what goodness I might find there. About three entries down, there it was. An article about reaching through a curtain of differences and touching others in love. It’s God’s way. It’s all he asks of us.

I returned to my own place, took up my instrument and tried again, encouraged that I was on the right track. And that’s how it works when everyone plays their part, more and more are touched by the beautiful music our work in harmony produces.

Each of us must make a choice. It’s not something we can do alone. We need Him. We need each other. Let’s strive to walk together, not push and shove others out of the way. Stop struggling. Wait. Follow that sweet sound. Can you hear it? Listen….

Jc

Leave a Reply

Categories

