Posted by: Jackie | November 2, 2008

Striving

I lift up my eyes to the hills–

where does my help come from?

My help comes from the Lord,

the maker of heaven and earth.

He will not let your foot slip–

He who watches over you will not slumber

Psalm 121: 1-3

 

In the midst of storms, trials and frustrations of hour-by-hour living, I forget. I simply forget where to seek help. I forget that the God who fashioned the universe, who called forth the creatures to roam the earth, the One who provides for the fowl of the air, cares most for me.

A homeless man once said:

 

Look at the birds of the air,

they do not sow or reap or store in barns,

and yet your heavenly Father feeds them.

Are you not much more valuable than they?

Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

Matthew 6:36-27

Every twig, every seed comes from Him. God so infinitely fashioned this earth that a certain amount of debris falls from trees and animals that form the nest birds make to rest their young in. Uncountable varieties of insects exist to provide them with a smorgasbord of delicacies to choose from each day.

 And yet…

During the creation phase, he didn’t craft the birds with the same intention as he did us. No, it’s like comparing a bowl to a fine vase. God breathed all his passion into us: to walk in the cool of the evening with Him, to fellowship with Him, to love and be loved by Him.

 So why do we sweat it?

 Why do we kill ourselves working jobs we hate, to pay bills we’ve acquired because we had to have possessions we care little about? And those possessions we do care about seem to break or get lost. So why worry? Why strive? Why waste endless hours pursuing pipe dreams that go up in a puff of smoke the moment our hands grasp them? It takes up a lot of time and energy that I could put toward activities I actually enjoy doing.

 

Things I’d rather do than Worry:

1.  Blaring worship music while cooking dinner and singing my heart out to God.

2.  Racing my son to the park to see who will get there first to feed the ducks.

3.  Relaxing on the porch swing and watching the sun go down as I tell God about my day.

4.  Actually making time to write instead of talking or whining about it.

5.  Making a difference in this world by walking to a different beat.

 

I think that homeless dude was right. There’s something better, much better that I can put my energy into.

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness

and all these things

will be given to you as well.

Matthew 6:33

 

So many opportunities I can put my heart into besides worrying. I will seek Him first above all things so that all the things I need in this life, so the desires God has instilled in me, and the purposes he’s created me for can be obtained in the here and now.

 (And) the Lord will keep you from all harm–

he will watch over your life;

the Lord will watch over your coming and going

both now and forevermore.

Psalm 121:7-8

 

 All scripture from NIV Bible

 

Responses

  1. This is beautiful. Jackie!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

